Website Zoom


Download Reader

The Sitting of the National Assembly has been adjourned to meet again on Friday the 8th March, 2024 at 5:00 p.m. │ The Speaker has been pleased to summon the meeting of the members of Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) in the Parliament House, Islamabad on Saturday, the 9th March, 2024 at 10:00 a.m. for the purpose of election to the Office of the President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan
Print Print

Standing Committee on Energy (power Division) Meets

Thursday, 8th December, 2022


Islamabad 8th December, 2022: The standing committee on Energy (power Division) has directed all the electric power distribution companies to complete the ongoing village electrification schemes without further delay for those funds had already been released by the federal Government. The Committee took serious note of the delay in procurement of material despite available financial resources. The standing committee met under the chairmanship of Sardar Riaz Hussain Mazari, MNA in Parliament House, Islamabad. 
The Committee while discussing the delay in completion of village electrification schemes, the expressed it displeasure on lethargic attitude of the official concerned. The committee outrightly rejected the plea of the DISCOS attributing those delays to COViD 19. The Committee members were of the view that  all those responsible should be taken to task. The Committee also directed for inclusion of other companies supplying material for electrification to meet the shortage of material and built a healthy competition amongst the companies in field. 
The Committee after briefing by the Additional Secretary Cabinet Division on electrification schemes under SDGS was of the view that necessary funds need to be reallocated for ensuring completion of the ongoing schemes. The Committee therefore decided to approach Steering Committee on SDGS to allow reappropriating funds to those schemes on which more than 50 percent of the work had been completed. The additional Secretary Cabinet apprised the Committee about the procedure for approval of schemes and allocation of funds therefor. He informed that Rs.8.1 billion had been released by the Cabinet Division for Electrification schemes to Power Division. 
The Committee while discussing charging of taxes and tv fee in bills of mosques and places of worship of other religions, recommended to the government to only charge cost of electricity only and not the government taxes. The matter was referred to the Committee moved by Maulana Abdul Akbar Chitrali, MNA regarding charging of taxes in electricity bills of mosques. The Committee also recommended for reconsideration of Board of Director of Sukkur Electricity Power Company. The matter was referred to the Committee moved by Mr. Ghous Bux Khan Mehar, MNA. He contended that board presently constituted of political persons having no knowledge of power sector. The Committee disposed of both the matters after issuing appropriate directions to the Power Division. Later, CEO Guddu power plant apprised the Committee about the performance of the Power company. The Committee appreciated appreciated the performance of the company. 
The Committee also appointed a sub committee under the Convenership of Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah to discuss and submit recommendation for measures to increase use of solar energy, proposed amendments in NEPRA Net metering rules impeding conversion to solar power besides issues of electrification in areas under K-Electric and SEPCO. 
The Committee meeting was attended by mr. khurrum Dastagir, Minister for Power Division, Ms. Saira Bano, Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah, Sardar Arfan Dogar, Dr. Afzal khan Dhandla, Mr. Muhammad Sajjad, Mr. Ghous Bux Mehar, Dr. Mehreen  Razzak Bhutto, Maulana Abdul Akbar Chitrali, secreatry power division, CEOs of Electricity Distribution Companies and other senior officers of the concerned departments.