Website Zoom


Download Reader

The Sitting of the National Assembly has been adjourned to meet again on Friday, the 9th June, 2023 at 4.00 p.m. |The Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) has been adjourned to meet again on Monday the 10th July, 2023, at, in the Parliament House, Islamabad. Committee Meetings:03:00 PM: 37th meeting of SC on Foreign Affairs at Constitution Room, Parliament House, Islamabad | 04:00 PM: 51st to 68th meetings of Special Committee on Affected Employees at Old PIPS Hall, Parliament Lodges, Islamabad |
Print Print

Standing Committee on Information Technology & Telecommunications Meets

Monday, 13th March, 2023
The Standing Committee on Information Technology & Telecommunications expressed grave concern over poor service and weak signals problems of Mobile Network Companies across the Country. The Committee directed that Telecom Companies may improve their services in best possible way within their available resources. A meeting of the Standing Committee on Information Technology & Telecommunications was held today on 13th March, 2023 at 11:30 a.m in Committee Room No. 7, Parliament House, Islamabad under the Chairmanship of Mir Khan Muhammad Jamali, MNA.


2.         The PTA briefly apprised the Committee about the independent surveys conducted in districts of Chitral however, the surveys proved that quality of network services found below required standards therefore, PTA would initiate action against the telecom operator and its report would also be shared with this august Committee. The Committee was also briefed that 4.6 million population of Balochistan was covered by telecom operator and most of the areas service was blocked due to Law & Order situation by security agencies. The Chairman, USF informed the Committee that 40% of USF funds were spent on Baluchistan in collaboration with Telecom Operators which is the highest amount incurred amongst all the Provinces. The Telecom Operators apprised that the problems being faced by them is shared with PTA for provision of uninterrupted service to customers.


3.         The Committee desired that Hon. Minister for Information Technology & Telecommunications may attend next meeting of Standing Committee for substantial support to Telecom Sector and decision making by the Committee.


4.         Besides the official of the Ministry the following MNAs, Mr. Ali Gohar Khan, Ms. Ayesha Rajab Ali, Ms. Romina Khurshid Alam, Ms. Maiza Hameed, Ms. Naz Baloch, Ms. Shamim Ara Panhwar, Syed Mehmood Shah, Mr. Salahuddin, Ms. Javairia Zafar Aheer, Mr. Mahesh Kumar Malani and Moulana Abdul Akbar Chitrali & Ms. Aliya Kamran MNA/Movers attended the meeting.