[AS PASSED BY THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY]

Α

Bill

further to amend the Pakistan Army Act, 1952

WHEREAS it is expedient further to amend the Pakistan Army Act, 1952 (XXXIX of 1952), in the manner and for the purposes hereinafter appearing;

It is hereby enacted as follows:-

- 1. Short title and commencement.- (1) This Act shall be called the Pakistan Army (Amendment) Act, 2024.
- (2) It shall come into force at once and shall always be deemed to have been part of the Pakistan Army Act, 1952 (XXXIX of 1952).
- 2. Amendment of section 8A, Act XXXIX of 1952.- In the said Act, in section 8A, in sub-section (1), for the expression "three (03)" the word "five (05)" shall be substituted.
- 3. Amendment of section 8B, Act XXXIX of 1952.- In the said Act, in section 8B, in sub-section (1)-
 - (i) for the expression "three (03)", occurring twice, the expression "five (05)" shall be substituted; and
 - (ii) after the expression ", or", the expressions ", and/or" shall be substituted.
- 4. Substitution of section 8C, Act XXXIX of 1952.- In the said Act, for section 8C, the following shall be substituted, namely:-

"8C. Retirement age and service limits of the Chief of the Army Staff.- The retirement age and service limits prescribed for a General, under the Rules and Regulations made under this Act, shall not be applicable to the Chief of the Army Staff, during his tenure of appointment, reappointment and/or extension. Throughout such tenure, the Chief of the Army Staff shall continue to serve as a General in the Pakistan Army.".

STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS

The purpose of these amendments are to make consistent the Pakistan Army Act, 1952 (XXXIX of 1952), The Pakistan Navy Ordinance, 1961 (Ordinance No. XXXV of 1961) and The Pakistan Air Force Act, 1953 (VI of 1953) with the maximum tenure of the Chief of the Army Staff, the Chief of the Naval Staff and the Chief of the Air Staff and to make consequential amendments for uniformity in the aforementioned laws.

The Bill has been designed to achieve the aforesaid objects.

Minister-in-Charge