NATIONAL ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

BULLETIN NO. 8 OF THE ASSEMBLY

(6th SESSION 2024)

Date and Time	Sunday, the 23 rd June, 2024 at 11:00 a.m.	
Commenced at	11:03 A.M.	
Adjourned at	7:28 P.M.	
Total working hours	7 Hours 23 minutes (1 hour 2 minutes break time excluded)	
Presided by	1. Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Speaker, National Assembly of the Islamic	
	Republic of Pakistan.	
	2. Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah, Deputy Speaker National	
	Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.	
Attendance	218	

1. TILAWAT, HADITH, NAAT AND NATIONAL ANTHEM

- Tilawat and Hadith by Qari Muhammad Mahmood Younus
- Naat by Qari Muhammad Jawad Karimi
- National anthem

LEAVE APPLICATIONS

The leave applications of the Members who requested for grant of leave, were read out by the honourable Speaker and the leave was granted.

CHANGE OF CHAIR

At 12.07 p.m. Mr. Deputy Speaker took the Chair, vacated by the Honourable Speaker.

THE BUDGET

2.	Further general discussion on the Budget for	The following Members spoke on general
	the year 2024-2025.	discussion on the Budget 2024-25:-
		1. Dr. Mahesh Kumar Malani
		11.14 a.m. to 11.33 a.m. (0:19)
		2. Ms. Shahida Akhtar Ali
		11.33 a.m. to 11.51 a.m. (0:18)
		3. Mr. Ali Zahid
		11.51 a.m. to 12.02 p.m. (0:11)
		4. Syed Amin-ul-Haq
		12.02 p.m. to 12.18 p.m. (0:16)
		5. Nawabzada Iftikhar Ahmed Khan Babar
		12.18 p.m. to 12.26 p.m. (0:08)
		6. Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah
		12.26 p.m. to 12.51 p.m. (0:25)

BREAK

At 1.13 p.m. Mr. Deputy Speaker suspended the proceedings of the House for Zohar prayers/lunch for an hour. The House reassembled at 2.16 p.m.

7. Mr. Khawaja Sheraz Mehmood
2.40 p.m. to 2.54 p.m. (0:14)
8. Mr. Qaiser Ahmed Shaikh,
Minister for Maritime Affairs
2.58 p.m. to 3.13 p.m. (0:15)
9. Mr. Riaz Fatyana
3.14 p.m. to 3.25 p.m. (0:11)
10. Syed Waseem Hussain
3.25 p.m. to 3.40 p.m. (0:15)
11. Shazia Marri
3.40p.m. to 4.11 p.m. (0:31)
12. Ms. Aliya Kamran
4.15 p.m. to 4.24 p.m. (0:10)
13. Mr. Ali Muhammad Khan
4.24 p.m. to 4.41 p.m. (0:18)
14. Syed Hussain Tariq
4.41 p.m to 5.00 p.m (0:20)
15. Nawabzada Mir Jamal Khan Raisani
5.01 p.m. to 5.13 p.m. (0:12)
16. Ms. Nosheen Iftikhar
5.13 p.m. to 5.23 p.m. (0:10)
17. Ms. Shandana Gulzar Khan
5.24 p.m. to 5.38 p.m. (0:14)
18. Ms. Aseefa Bhutto Zardari
5.39 p.m. to 5.43 p.m. (0:05)
19. Mr. Muhammad Jawed Hanif Khan
5.43 p.m. to 5.57 p.m. (0:13)
20. Mr. Nisar Ahmed
5.58 p.m. to 6.11 p.m. (0:13)
21. Ms. Mahtab Akbar Rashdi
6.11 p.m. to 6.26 p.m. (0:15)
22. Mr. Attaullah Tarar,
Minister for Information and Broadcasting
and National Heritage and Culture
6.27 p.m. to 6.40 p.m. (0:13)
23. Mr. Junaid Akbar
6.40 p.m. to 6.54 p.m. (0:14)
24. Mr. Fateh Ullah Khan
6.54 p.m. to 7.15 p.m. (0:21)
25. Mr. Adil Khan Bazai
7.19 p.m. to 7.26 p.m. (0:07)
7.17 p.m. to 7.20 p.m. (0.07)

PROTEST

The members of SIC made protest, chanted slogans and gathered in front of the Speaker's dais for not giving the floor to SIC Members, on point of order.

POINTS OF ORDER

Name of members	Brief Subject
Khawaja Muhammad Asif,	Raised the issue of protection of rights of minorities.
Minister for Defence	
12.52 p.m. to 1.13 p.m. (0:21)	
2.35 p.m. to 2.36 p.m. (0:01)	
Senator Azam Nazeer Tarar,	Resolution for protection of minorities.
Minister for Law and Justice and	
Parliamentary Affairs	
2.17 p.m. to 2.20 p.m. (0:03)	
2.36 p.m. to 2.40 p.m. (0:04)	

Mr. Gohar Ali Khan 2.23 p.m. to 2.29 p.m. (0:06)	Parliament be taken into confidence on military operations.
Khawaja Izhar-ul-Hassan	Drawn attention towards rule 188 of the Rules of Procedure and the
2.30 p.m. to 2.32 p.m. (0:02)	Conduct of the Business in the National Assembly, 2007.
Mr. Omar Ayub Khan,	Criticized on Budget.
Leader of the Opposition	
2.32 p.m. to 2.34 p.m. (0:02)	
Mr. Aijaz Hussain Jakhrani	Opposition benches have been given more time on budget speeches,
2.36 p.m. to 2.37 p.m. (0:01)	than the treasury benches.
Mr. Shehryar Afridi	Point of personal explanation.
2.40 p.m. to 2.42 p.m. (0:02)	
Mr. Muhammad Iqbal Khan	Spoke on military operation in erstwhile FATA
2.55 p.m. to 2.57 p.m. (0:03)	
Sardar Awais Ahmed Khan Leghari	Responded to the point raised by Shazia Marri, MNA regarding the
Minister for Power	statement given by HESCO official.
4.10 p.m. to 4.12 p.m. (0:02)	
Ms. Shagufta Jumani	Raised the issue of disconnection of supply of gas in her House.
7.16 p.m. to 7.18 p.m. (0:02)	
Shazia Marri	Point of personal explanation.
7.26 p.m. to 7.27 p.m. (0:01)	

RESOLUTION

Senator Azam Nazeer Tarar, Minister for Law and Justice, Parliamentary Affairs and Human Rights moved the following resolution which was adopted by the House:-

"that this House believes that;

Right to life is the most cherished right as enshrined in the Constitution of Pakistan.

Every person is to be dealt with in accordance with the law and not otherwise.

This House takes serious notice for the notice of the recent mob lynching of our citizens accused of offences in Swat and Sargodha. It is noted with grave concern that such incidents have recently increased in different parts of the country.

This House strongly condemns these horrific and tragic incidents which cannot be tolerated in any civilized society.

This House, therefore, strongly urges the Federal and Provincial governments to ensure the safety and security of all our citizens, including religious minorities and other vulnerable segments of Society.

The House also demands that the Provincial Governments of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab immediately take all necessary measures to ensure that persons involved in these incidents are identified, investigated and prosecuted under the relevant laws.

The House also expects that the courts shall ensure immediate and speedy justice in these cases.

At 7.28 p.m., Mr. Deputy Speaker adjourned the sitting of the Assembly, to meet again on Monday the 24th June, 2024 at 11.00 a.m.

Islamabad, the 23rd June, 2024

TAHIR HUSSAIN Secretary General