

















الشاروين بيكرز كانعت نرس، اسلام آباد

2024 وسمبر 2024

18th December, 2024



SARDAR AYAZ SADIQ

HONOURABLE SPEAKER OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF PAKISTAN

It is my profound privilege to welcome my distinguished colleagues and delegates from all Legislatures in the country at the auspicious occasion of the 18th Speakers' Conference, 2024 in Islamabad, taking place after a decade of the 17th Speakers' Moot in 2004.

Over the period of years this forum has emerged as a dynamic platform, bringing the parliamentary leadership together for nurturing democratic ideals, exchanging ideas, resolving challenges and strengthening parliamentary institutions. This august

gathering of Presiding Officers of all legislatures in the country is a manifestation of our solemn commitment towards fostering an enabling environment for streamlining institutional capacity of parliamentary Institutions.

It is a matter of great satisfaction that Speakers' Conferences held in the past have contributed appreciably viz-a-viz

harmonization of legislatures' rules of procedures for consolidating parliamentary oversight of the Executive. As presiding officers of legislatures, we have a collective responsibility to review existing practices and procedures and nurturing excellence by promoting institutional reforms. In this context, the 18th Speakers' Conference will help us work in unison to adopt contemporary and innovative approaches thereby ensuring transparency, accessibility and accountability at our legislatures.

As we convene this year, let us continue our legacy with renewed determination. I encourage all delegates to address the complexities of our times with wisdom and foresight, to deliberate on solutions to contemporary challenges and to chart a course of action for the future of legislative excellence.

I extend my heartfelt gratitude to the Secretary General, National Assembly of Pakistan and the Secretariat for their exceptional efforts in organizing this conference.

I wish all distinguished Presiding Officers and the worthy delegate Members an efficacious and memorable conference filled with candid discussions, insightful thoughts and productive outcomes.

4

It is my firm conviction that our dialogue will contribute appreciably towards the greater goal of upholding rule of law by ensuring the wellbeing of the people and protection of vulnerable communities as envisaged in the Constitution of Pakistan.

Arrival of Special Guest on the 18th Speakers' Conference, 2024





Speaker National Assembly, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq with two former Speakers, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf and Mr. Asad Qaiser met with special guest, Chairman of Shura Council of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Dr. Abdullah Bin Mohammed Bin Ibrahim Al Sheikh at the Parliament House, Islamabad.

18th Speakers' Conference

SPEAKERS' PROFILES

Sardar Ayaz Sadiq

Honourable Speaker of the National Assembly of Pakistan

Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, the 22nd Speaker of the National Assembly of Pakistan, assumed office in March, 2024, marking his third term in this esteemed position. Previously serving as Speaker from 2013–2015 and 2015–2018, he holds the distinction of being the only Speaker in Pakistan's history to be re-elected during the same parliamentary tenure.

Syed Yousuf Raza Gillani

Honourable Chairman of the Senate of Pakistan

Syed Yousuf Raza Gillani, an accomplished statesman, currently serves as the Chairman of the Senate of Pakistan. As the Prime Minister of Pakistan from 2008 to 2012, he played a pivotal role in shaping Pakistan's political and economic landscape. He also served as the Speaker of National Assembly of Pakistan from 1993–1997.

Malik Muhammad Ahmad Khan

Honourable Speaker of the Provincial Assembly of Punjab

Malik Muhammad Ahmad Khan, a seasoned political leader with over two decades of experience, elected as the Speaker of the Provincial Assembly of Punjab on February, 2024. Before assuming this role, he served three terms as a Member of the Provincial Assembly (MPA) of Punjab.

Sved Awais Qadir Shah

Honourable Speaker of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh

Syed Awais Qadir Shah hails from a respected political family in Sindh. Elected as Speaker of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh in February 2024, he previously served two terms as an MPA and one term as a Provincial Minister for transport in Sindh.

Mr. Babar Saleem Swati

Honourable Speaker of the Provincial Assembly of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Mr. Babar Saleem Swati, a prominent politician actively engaged in politics since 2005. He has been elected as a Member of the Provincial Assembly of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa thrice (2008–2013, 2018–2023, 2024–Present). He assumed the role of Speaker in February, 2024. He has also been Advisor to the Chief Minister on Home and Tribal Affairs Department.

Captain (Retd) Abdul Khaliq Khan Achakzai

Honourable Speaker of the Provincial Assembly of Balochistan

Capt (R) Abdul Khaliq Khan Achakzai, a politician from Chaman District, served as an MPA in the Provincial Assembly of Balochistan from 2008 to 2013. He was elected as the Speaker of the Provincial Assembly of Balochistan in February, 2024.

Mr. Nazir Ahmad

Honourable Speaker of the Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly

Mr. Nazir Ahmad, a notable political leader, previously served as the Deputy Speaker of the Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly from November 2020 to June 2023. He was elected as the Speaker in June, 2023 unopposed.

Chaudhry Latif Akbar

Honourable Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Azad Jammu & Kashmir

Chaudhry Latif Akbar, a veteran politician, has been elected seven times as a member of the Azad Jammu & Kashmir Assembly. Over his distinguished career, he has held multiple ministerial positions and served as Acting Prime Minister of Azad Jammu & Kashmir. He became Speaker of the Assembly in June, 2023.

Picture Gallery

























BACKGROUND AND OBJECTIVES OF THE CONFERENCE

In the Indo Pak Subcontinent, the Speakers' Conference, originally established in 1921, began with the first Conference of the Speakers of Central and Provincial Legislatures held in Simla under the chairmanship of Mr. Frederick Whyte. In Pakistan, the first post-independence Speakers' Conference took place in Karachi in 1972. The then Honourable Speaker National Assembly of Pakistan Mr. Fazal Elahi Chaudhry hosted the inaugural meeting in Karachi. This marked a significant step in Pakistan's parliamentary development, offering a forum for Speakers of National and Provincial Assemblies to discuss challenges, strengthen democratic processes and promote inter-parliamentary cooperation. From 1972 to 1976, the forum met regularly, but after a gap, the next conference was held in 1985. Since then, the Speakers' Conferences have been held at various intervals.

Speakers' Conferences at a Glance

S. No.	Date	Venue	Chaired By Speaker
1	10 July 1972	Karachi	Mr. Fazal Elahi Chaudhry
2	6-7 October 1972	Islamabad	Mr. Fazal Elahi Chaudhry
3	18-19 October 1973	Lahore	Sahibzada Farooq Ali
4	7-8 January 1975	Karachi	Sahibzada Farooq Ali
5	1-2 August 1975	Quetta/Ziarat	Sahibzada Farooq Ali
6	29-30 July 1976	Swat/Saidu Sharif	Sahibzada Farooq Ali
7	9 May 1985	Islamabad	Syed Fakhar Imam
8	7-8 February 1986	Islamabad	Syed Fakhar Imam
9	11-12 August 1987	Quetta	Mr. Hamid Nasir Chattha
10	17-18 November 1989	Karachi	Malik Miraj Khalid
11	16-17 March 1990	Lahore	Malik Miraj Khalid
12	24-26 January 1993	Peshawar	Mr. Gohar Ayub Khan
13	26-28 September 1998	Muzaffarabad	Mr. Ilahi Bukhsh Soomro
14	16 December 2004	Islamabad	Ch. Amir Hussain
15	29-30 July 2006	Quetta	Ch. Amir Hussain
16	2-3 March 2010	Lahore	Dr. Fehmida Mirza
17	13-15 April 2014	Islamabad	Sardar Ayaz Sadiq



The institution of the Speakers' Conference has a rich historical legacy, with its origins tracing back to 1921, when the first such conference was held in Simla under the leadership of Mr. Frederick Whyte, Speaker of the Central Legislative Assembly.

Weather



