Website Zoom


Download Reader

| Today In National Assembly: 11:00 AM: National Assembly Session |
Print Print

NA Standing Committee on Interior meets

Tuesday, 14th March, 2023

The 48th meeting of the Standing Committee on Interior was held on the 14th March, 2023, today, under the Chairmanship of Ahmed Hussain Deharr, MNA, in the Constitution Room (old Committee Room No. 5) 2nd floor, Parliament House, Islamabad.

The meeting commenced with recitation from the Holy Quran. The Committee took the briefing on the Bills and other agenda items from each relevant Wing/Department of the Ministry. The Committee discussed and deferred the following Bills for further discussion and deliberation.

The Islamabad Capital Territory Local Government Bill, 2022

The Naturalization (Amendment) Bill, 2022
Islamabad Capital Territory Criminal Prosecution Service (Constitution, Functions and Powers) Bill, 2022;

After the detailed discussion, the Committee recommended that the Bill titled “The Pakistan Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2022”, may be passed by the National Assembly.

The Committee also deliberated on the Calling Attention Notice moved by a Senior Member, regarding Sale and Lease of Commercial Buildings for the Residential Purposes without completion Certificate in Islamabad, and deferred the matter for further deliberations. The Committee issued the directions to frame the CDA regulations and regulatory framework within thirty days.

The Committee also discussed the matter moved by another Senior Member regarding the issue of leakage of rain water from the roofs and walls of the Parliament Lodges; the committee issued the directions to the concerned authorities to inquire into the matter and resolve the same. For further deliberations, the Committee adjourned the matter for next meeting. The Committee expressed displeasure for not issuing funds by the Finance Ministry.

The Committee issued the directions for constituting a Sub-Committee to look into the matter related to the CNIC’s for Biharis.

The meeting was attended by the Honorable Members; Syed Agha Rafiullah, MNA, Mr. Usama Qadri, MNA, Mr. Asmatullah and Ms. Asiya Azeem, MNA. Ms.Aliya Kamran MNA/Mover, Mr. Mohsin Dawar MNA/Mover, Ms. Mehnaz Akber Aziz MNA/Mover and Secretary to M/O Interior and Senior Officers from the Ministry of Interior, Ministry of Law and Justice, ICT and CDA (Chairman and Officers) and its attached Wings, NADRA, Immigration and Passport, and Law and Justice Division, and District Attorney ICT, District Public Prosecutor ICT, Director Industries and Labour, and DC ICT also attended the meeting