Website Zoom


Download Reader

The Sitting of the National Assembly has been adjourned to meet again on Friday, the 3rd February, 2023,at 11:00 a.m. |In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of the Article 54 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan , the President has been pleased to summon the Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) to meet in Joint Sitting in the Parliament House, Islamabad, on Wednesday, the 8th February, 2023 at 3.00 p.m.| Committee Meetings:11:00 AM: States and Frontier Regions (SAFRON) (Cancelled) at Committee Room No.7, Parliament House, Islamabad | 01:00 PM: Meeting of the SC on Board of Investment at Constitution Room (Old Committee Room No.5) Parliament House | 01:15 PM: Standing Committee on National Culture and Heritage Division at Constitution Room (Old Committee Room No.5) Parliament House | 01:30 PM: 162th, 163rd, 164th and 165th meetings of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC)(Postponed) at Committee Room No.2 Parlilament House | 02:00 PM: Religious Affairs and Inter-Faith Harmony at Committee Room No.7, Parliament House, Islamabad | 02:00 PM: 2nd meeting of the Special Committee on Balochistan (Revised) at Constitution Room (Old Committee Room No.5) Parliament House |
Print Print

Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs Meets

Wednesday, 7th December, 2022



Islamabad, the 7th December, 2022: 19th meeting of the National Assembly Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs was held today at 11:00 a.m. in the Parliament House, Islamabad under the Chairpersonship of Mr. Muhammad Abu Bakar, MNA for a briefing on the working and performance of the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.

2. The Committee was briefed by the Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs regarding objectives and assigned functions of the Ministry. He apprised the Committee that the Ministry provides a window for coordination in the law making process and coordinate with the President House, Parliament and Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) in this regard. He briefed that the objective of the Ministry is to expedite the legislation and smooth functioning of the Parliament. The function of the Ministry is to liaison between the Ministries/Divisions and Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) in respect of official/non-official business, he added. The Ministry also summons the Parliament Sessions (National Assembly and the Senate), Joint Sitting and prorogation of the Sessions. While briefing on the functions assigned to the Ministry, he informed that the Ministry submit the Bills passed by the National Assembly/Senate or by the Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) to the President of Pakistan for assent. The Ministry also deals with the legislation pertaining to privileges of the Parliament, Parliamentarians, salaries and allowances of Custodian of the Houses, Leader of the Houses and Leader of the Opposition.

3. The Secretary also briefed the Committee regarding the working of the Prime Minister Public Affairs and Grievances Wing of the Ministry. He apprised that the said Wing receives manual as well as online complaints of public from all over Pakistan. He informed that the complaints are forwarded to the concerned Federal, Provincial and Local Government Departments through PM Portal and after getting reply from concerned Departments each complainant is telephonically asked about his/her satisfaction level. If the complainant is unsatisfied, he/she is asked to submit rebuttal and the case is re-opened, he added. The Committee directed the Ministry to provide the details of the complaints received and actions taken so far to the Committee before its next meeting.

4. The Committee deferred the legislative business (Private Members’ Bills), i.e. “The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2019” (moved by Mr. Riaz Fatyana, MNA), “The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2020” (moved by Ms. Noreen Farooq Khan, MNA) and “The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2020” (moved by Rai Muhammad Murtaza Iqbal, MNA) due to non-availability of the Movers. Later, the Ministry withdrawn the Government Bills i.e. “The Elections (Third Amendment) Bill, 2021” (Ord. No. XX of 2021) and “The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2022” (Ord. No. I of 2022).

5. Besides the Minister for Parliamentary Affairs (Mr. Murtaza Javed Abbasi, MNA), the meeting was attended by Mr. Mahesh Kumar Malani, Dr. Qadir Khan Mandokhail, Moulana Abdul Akbar Chitrali and Ms. Javairia Zafar Aheer, Hon. MNAs. The senior officers from Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Ministry of Law & Justice and ECP were also present in the meeting.