Website Zoom


Download Reader

The National Assembly Session has been prorogued on Monday, the 15th August, 2022 |In exercise of the powers conferred by proviso to rule 4 of the Parliament (Joint Sittings) Rules, 1973, the Hon. Speaker has been pleased to call a Joint Sitting on Thursday, the 20th October, 2022 at 4.00 p.m, instead of Thursday, the 22nd September, 2022 at 4.00 p.m. in the Parliament House, Islamabad.

Press Release Details

Share Print
Meeting of the Standing Committee on National Food Security and Research
Friday, 15th July, 2022

24th Meeting of the Standing Committee on National Food Security and Research (NFS&R) was held today, under the Chairmanship of Rao Muhammad Ajmal Khan, MNA, in the Committee Room of National Agriculture Research Center (NARC), Chak Shahzad, Islamabad.

The Committee recommended that the Provinces should finalize the support price of wheat for the next year. The minimum support price of wheat would be announced before August, 2022 after getting approval from the Federal Cabinet.

The Committee also recommended that the South Punjab Secretariat to vacate the research land of the Bahawalpur Agriculture Research Institute. The Committee directed the Chairman, PARC and Secretary, Ministry of NFS&R to defend the case regarding in Supreme Court of Pakistan.

Managing Director, Pakistan Agriculture Storage and Services Corporation (PASSCO), assured the Committee that the PASSCO achieved 100% results and procured 1.2 Mn M.Tons of wheat as assigned by the Economic Coordination Committee. He apprised the Committee that incentives for small growers, cash payment of up to 200 Bags was introduced, however, farmer was able to get his immediate cash from the bank on producing his bill.

The Committee deferred the Calling Attention Notice No. 9 moved by Mr. Mohsin Nawaz Ranjha, MNA, the National Food Safety, Animal and Plant Health Regulatory Authority Act, 2021 moved by Rai Muhammad Murtaza Iqbal, MNA and the Safe Milk and Dairy Bill, 2021 moved by Ms. Nafeesa Inayatullah Khan Khattak, MNA, due to the unavailability of the Movers.

MNAs, Chaudhary Faqir Ahmad, Syed Javed Ali Shah Jillani, Mr. Kamal Ud-din, Mr. Zulfiqar Bachani and senior officers from the Ministry of NFS&R, Ministry of Law and Justice & NARC attended the meeting.