Website Zoom


Download Reader

| Today In National Assembly: 04:00 PM: National Assembly Session | Committee Meetings:06:00 PM: 18th (in-camera) meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on Appointment of the Chief Election Commissioner & Members at Constitution Room (Old Committee Room No.5) Parliament House |

Press Release Details

Share Print
NA Standing Committee on Science and Technology Meets
Wednesday, 1st December, 2021


Islamabad, 01st December, 2021; 18th meeting of the Standing Committee on Science and Technology was held today under the Chairmanship of Mr. Sajid Mehdi, MNA at 02:00 P.M. in Committee Room of Pakistan Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (PCSIR), Ministry of Science & Technology, Islamabad.

The meeting started with recitation from the Holy Quran then, the Committee decided to proceed with the agenda. The Committee unanimously confirmed the Minutes of the previous meeting held on 13th October, 2021. The Committee expressed its satisfaction on implementation status of previous recommendations and disposed of the same.
The Committee considered the Bill “The National University of Technology (Amendment) Bill, 2020 (Moved by Mr. Riaz Fatyana, MNA). The Committee appreciated the object and efforts of the Member. After detailed deliberations the Committee recommended that the Bill be referred to the Standing Committee on Law and Justice for further consideration with assistance of the Ministry of Law and Justice either to formulate a single umbrella law to carry forward the said concept for all laws in Pakistan or otherwise.  

The Committee considered the Bill “The Pakistan Council of Research in Water Resources (Amendment) Bill, 2021 (Ordinance No. XIX of 2021) (Government Bill). The Ministry of Law and Justice supported the Bill. During detailed discussion the issue of scarcity of water was also considered. The Committee recommended that in future, a meeting shall be held at PCRWR for briefing and consideration of various steps being taken by the PCRWR to address the issue of water shortage and steps being taken by the Government to reduce the wastage of water and recycling of used water. After detailed discussion the Committee recommended that the Bill may be passed by the National Assembly.

The Committee did not consider the Bill “The Contractors Registration Bill, 2021 moved by Ms. Uzma Riaz, MNA”, due to non-availability of the Mover and deferred the same till next meeting as requested by her.

Hon. Members/MNAs/Movers Engr. Usman Khan Tarakai, Ch. Shoukat Ali Bhatti, Ms. Sobia Kamal Khan, Dr. Mukhtar Ahmad Malik, Ms. Zaib Jaffar, Mr. Khursheed Ahmed Junejo, Mr. Sikandar Ali Rahoupoto, Mr. Naveed Aamir Jeeva and Mr. Riaz Fatyana, MNA besides the Secretary, Ministry of Science and Technology along with their staff attended the meeting.