Resolution on Combating Islamophobia

26 October 2020

The National Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan taking serious note of the recent blasphemous incidents insulting the Holy Prophet

حضرت محمد رسول الله خاتم النبين صلى الله عليه و على آله واصحا به و سلم

through republication of blasphemous caricatures in France and the desecration of the Holy Quran in Norway and Sweden,

Condemns in strongest terms the resurgence of blasphemous and Islamophobic acts by mischievous elements in some parts of the world;

Expresses serious concern at the highly disturbing statements and hate-mongering, especially by leaders like President Macron, justifying unlawful provocation and insult to sentiments of more than a billion Muslims through such hate driven acts, under the garb of freedom of expression;

Recognizing with serious concern that Islamophobia has taken many forms including denigration of the Holy Prophet حضرت محمد رسول الله خاتم النبین صلی الله علیہ و علی آلہ واصحا بہ و سلم desecration of the Holy Quran, negative profiling by security agencies, killing of innocent people by cow vigilantes, attacks on women for wearing hijabs, ban on minarets, negative propaganda and disinformation campaigns by some media groups, manifestos of far-right and neo-fascist parties that call for expulsion of Muslims.;

Condemns unequivocally the practice of blasphemy and of insulting Prophets of Islam, Christianity and Judaism alike;

Condemns strongly all acts of terror or violence in the name of any religion or belief;

Deplores equating of Islam and Muslims with terrorism which goes against the international consensus and spirit of mutual respect and peaceful co-existence;

With the intention of effectively addressing the issue of Islamophobia,

- 1. Urges the Government to recall its envoy from Paris;
- Urges the Government to work within the OIC for designating 15th of March as an International Day to Combat Islamophobia and to ask all OIC Members to boycott French goods;
- 3. Calls on the Secretary General of the OIC to continue to monitor the phenomenon of Islamophobia and take necessary actions for presenting Islamic countries'

common position on the matter especially the issue of blasphemous caricatures of the Holy Prophet حضرت محمد رسول الله خاتم النبين صلى الله عليه و على آله واصحا به و سلم

and desecration of the Holy Quran;

- 4. Urges all non-OIC countries to review anti-Muslim discriminatory policies and to refrain from practices that fan intolerance, discrimination, hatred or associate Islam with terror or extremism and ban unlawful provocations;
- 5. Calls upon all non-OIC countries to provide legal avenues to Muslims residing in their territory for redressal of their genuine grievances.
- 6. Calls on the UN Secretary General and the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, to immediately initiate a global dialogue for inter-faith harmony and the countering of rising islamophobia.

Sd/-

Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Hussain Qureshi, Minister for Foreign Affairs

Dr. Shireen M. Mazari, Minister for Human Rights Mr. Asad Umer, Minister for Planning Development and Special Initiatives Mr. Shafqat Mahmood, Minister for Federal Education, Professional Training & National Heritage and Culture Mr. Noor-ul-Haq Qadri, Minister for Religious Affairs and Inter-faith Harmony Mr. Ghulam Sarwar Khan, Minister for Aviation Division Mr. Murad Saeed, Minister for Communications Mr. Muhammad Hammad Azhar, Minister for Industries and Production Syed Amin-ul-Haque, Minister for Information Technology and Telecommunications Sahibzada Muhammad Mehboob Sultan, Minister for States and Frontier Regions Mr. Zaheer-ud-Din Babar Awan, Adviser for Prime Minister on Parliamentary Affairs Mr. Ali Muhammad Khan, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Mr. Muhammad Shabbir Ali Qureshi, Minister of State for Housing and Works Mr. Sheharyar Afridi, Chairman Kashmir Committee Mr. Khial Zaman, Parliamentary Secretary for Petroleum Division Mian Muhammad Shafiq, Parliamentary Secretary for Communications Mr. Abdul Shakoor Shad, Parliamentary Secretary for Cabinet Mr. Jamil Ahmed Khan, Parliamentary Secretary for Aviation Division Mr. Saleem Rehman, Parliamentary Secretary for Parliamentary Affairs Mr. Shaukat Ali, Parliamentary Secretary for Interior Malik Anwar Taj, Parliamentary Secretary for Defence Mr. Zahoor Hussain Qureshi, Parliamentary Secretary for Power Ms. Kunwal Shauzab, Parliamentary Secretary for Planning Development and Special Initiatives Makhdoom Zain Hussain Qureshi, Parliamentary Secretary for Finance and Revenue Ms. Aliya Hamza Mali, Parliamentary Secretary for Commerce Mr. Muhammad Ahmeer Sultan, Parliamentary Secretary for National Food and Research Ms. Ghazala Saifi, Parliamentary Secretary for National History and Literary Heritage Division Mr. Ahsan Iqbal Chaudhary Ch. Muhammad Barjees Tahir Malik Muhammad Amir Doger Raja Pervaiz Ashraf Syed Naveed Qamar Mr. Usama Quadri

Ms. Shahida Akhtar Ali Syed Abrar Ali Shah Mr. Noor-ul-Hassan Tanvir Mr. Muhammad Sana Ullah Khan Masti Khel Mr. Khalid Hussain Magsi Shazia Marri Mr. Faiz Ullah Mr. Saif Ur Rehman Moulana Abdul Akbar Chitrali Mr. Sher Ali Arbab Mr. Mohsin Dawar Ms. Shagufta Jumani Mr. Amir Iqbal Syed Hussain Tariq Mr. Riaz-ul-Haq Mr. Azhar Qayyum Nehra Mr. Ahmed Raza Maneka Mr. Atta Ullah Ms. Nooreen Farooq Khan Dr. Seemi Bokhari Dr. Haider Ali Khan Ch. Muhammad Hamid Hameed Mr. Muhammad Afzal Khokhar Mr. Muhammad Junaid Anwar Chaudhary Mr. Nadeem Abbas Mr. Mahesh Kumar Malani Mr. Muhammad Jamal-ud-Din Mr. Muahammad Khan Daha Mr. Sikandar Ali Rahoupoto Mr. Irfan Ali Laghari Mr. Khalid Ahmed Khan Lund Ms. Zahra Wadood Fatemi Ms. Mussarat Asif Khawaja Dr. Aisha Ghaus Pasha Dr. Samina Matloob Ms. Shaza Fatima Khawaja Ms. Naz Baloch Ms. Kiran Imran Dar

Syed Javed Husnain Ms. Munawara Bibi Baloch Ms. Shahida Rehmani Mr. Muhammad Alamgir Khan Mr. Shams-un-Nisa Mir Ghulam Ali Talpur Ms. Aliya Kamran Engr. Sabir Hussain Kaim Khani Sardar Muhammad Irfan Dogar Mr. Umar Aslam Khan Mr. Tahir Sadiq Haji Imtiaz Ahmed Chaudhry Syed Faiz-ul-Hassan Mehar Ghulam Muhammad Lali Rao Muhammad Ajmal Khan Rana Tanveer Hussain Mr. Zahid Akram Durrani Mr. Muhammad Farooq Azam Malik Mr. Zulfiqar Ali Khan Dullah Mr. Ali Khan Jadoon Mr. Zulfiqar Ali Behan Mr. Ali Nawaz Awan Mr. Mukhtar Ahmad Malik Dr. Darshan Rana Mubashir Iqbal Mr. Aamir Talal Gopang Engr. Usman Khan Tarakai Mr. Noor Alam Khan Mr. Arbab Amir Ayub Malik Karamat Ali Khokhar Mr. Rahat Aman Ullah Bhatti Makhdoom Syed Sami-ul-Hassan Gillani Mr. Riaz Fatyana Ms. Saira Bano Mr. Muhammad Abdul Ghafar Watto Members National Assembly