NATIONAL ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT BULLETIN OF THE ASSEMBLY (30th SESSION)

Date	Saturday, the 6 th March, 2021	
Commenced at	12:15 P.M.	
Adjourned at	2:30 P.M.	
Total working hours	2 Hours 15 Minutes	
Presided by	led by Mr. Asad Qaisar, Speaker, National Assembly of the Islamic	
	Republic of Pakistan.	
Attendance	181	

1.

TILAWAT, HADITH, NAAT AND NATIONAL ANTHEM

- Tilawat and Hadith by Qari Ikhlaq Madni
- Naat by Syed Zeeshan Bukhari
- National anthem

RESOLUTION FOR VOTE OF CONFIDENCE IN THE PRIME MINISTER

2.	MAKHDOOM SHAH MAHMOOD	Resolution Passed
	HUSSAIN QURESHI, Minister for	
	Foreign Affairs to move the following	(178 Members recorded their votes in
	Resolution:-	favour of the Resolution and the
	"that this House reposes confidence in the	Resolution passed)
	Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of	
	Pakistan, Mr. Imran Khan, as required	
	under clause (7) of Article 91 of the	
	Constitution of the Islamic Republic of	
	Pakistan."	

OPPOSITION BOYCOTT

All the Members of Opposition parties except Mr. Mohsin Dawar, MNA (independent) boycotted the proceedings of the sitting for the Resolution of vote of confidence in the Prime Minister.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE HONOURABLE SPEAKER

That before we start the process of vote of confidence in the Prime Minister, I explain the procedure to be adopted. Whenever the Prime Minister has to obtain a vote of confidence under clause (7) of Article 91 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, voting shall be recorded in accordance with the procedure set out in the Second Schedule to the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the National Assembly, 2007. Before voting commences, the Speaker shall direct that the bells be rung for five minutes to enable the members who are

not present in the Chamber to be present. Immediately after the bells stop ringing, all the entrances to the lobbies shall be locked and the Assembly staff posted at each entrance shall not allow any entry or exit through these entrances until the process of voting has concluded.

The Speaker shall then read out the Resolution before the Assembly and ask the members who wish to vote in favour of the Resolution to pass in single file through the entrance where tellers shall be posted to record the votes. On reaching the desk of the tellers, each member shall, in turn, call out the division number allotted to him under the rules. The teller shall then mark of his number on the division list simultaneously calling out the name of the member. In order to ensure that his vote has been properly recorded, the member shall not move off until he has clearly heard the teller call out his name. After a member has recorded his vote, he shall not return to the Chamber until bells are rung again on the completion of this process.

When Speaker finds that all the members who wish to vote have recorded their votes he shall announce that the voting has concluded. Thereupon Secretary, National Assembly, shall have the division list collected, count the recorded votes and present the result of the count to the Speaker. Speaker, thereafter, shall direct that the bells be rung for two minutes to enable the members to return to the Chamber.

After the Bells stop ringing, Speaker shall announce the result to the Assembly. Speaker shall also intimate the result to the President in writing.

PROCESS OF VOTING

RINGING OF BELLS

At 12.28 p.m. the process of voting was started and the bells were rung for five minutes, enable the members not present in the Chamber, to be present.

LOCKING OF ENTRANCE

After the bells stop ringing at 12:32 all the entrance to the lobbies were locked.

MR. SPEAKER READ OUT THE RESOLUTION BEFORE THE ASSEMBLY

At 1.33 p.m. Honourable Speaker read out the Resolution before the Assembly that it has been moved that this House reposes confidence in the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Mr. Imran Khan as required under clause (7) of Article 91 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan."

The honourable Speaker asked the honourable members who wish to vote in favour of the Resolution to proceed to the lobby on his right side for recording their votes.

RECORDING OF VOTES

At 12:44 the process of division and recording of votes, started.

VOTING CONCLUDED

At 1.02 p.m. Mr. Speaker announced that the voting has concluded and asked the Secretary to collect the Division List, count the recorded votes and present the result of the count.

RINGING OF BELLS

At 1.03 p.m. the bells were rung again for two minutes, to enable the members to return to the Chamber. After the bells were stop riniging the Hon. Speaker requested the members to return to their seats.

UN-LOCKING OF ENTRANCE

After the bells stop ringing at 1:04 p.m. all the entrances to the lobbies were un-locked.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE RESULT

At 1.13 p.m. Mr. Speaker announced the result that 178 Members recorded their votes in favour of the Resolution and the Resolution passed. Consequently, Mr. Imran Khan, obtained the vote of confidence from the National Assembly and commands the confidence of the majority of the members of the National Assembly as Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

FELICITATIONS TO THE PRIME MINISTER

The following members felicitate the honourable Leader of the House:-

- 1. Mr. Aamir Liaquat 1.14 p.m. to 1.17 p.m.
- 2. Mr. Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui 1.17 p.m. to 1.23 p.m.
- Dr. Fehmida Mirza Minister for Inter-Provincial Coordination 1.23 p.m. to 1.36 p.m.
- 4. Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, Minister for Interior 1.36 p.m. to 1.41p.m.

SPEECH MADE BY PRIME MINISTER OF PAKISTAN

Mr. Imran Khan, Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan 1.41 p.m. to 2.28 p.m.

At 2.30 p.m. Honourable Speaker read out the Prorogation Order by the President of Pakistan to prorogue the National Assembly.

Islamabad, the <u>6th March, 2021</u>

TAHIR HUSSAIN Secretary