NATIONAL ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

BULLETIN OF THE ASSEMBLY

(1ST SESSION 2018)

Date	Wednesday, the 15 th August, 2018		
Commenced at	10.35 A.M.		
Adjourned at	7.35 P.M.		
Total working hours	8 Hours 45 Minutes		
Presided by	 Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Speaker, National Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan Mr. Asad Qaiser, Speaker, National Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. 		
Attendance	330		

TILAWAT AND NAAT

- 1. Tilawat by Dr. Qari Muhammad Yunas
- 2. Naat by Ali Raza Arshad

MAKING OF OATH AND SIGNING OF THE ROLL OF MEMBERS

The following members-elect made oath before the House under Article 65 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan in the form set out in the Third Schedule and signed the Roll of Members as required by rule 7 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the National Assembly, 2007:-

S.No.	Name of Members	Constituency No.
1.	Mr. Naveed Dero	NA-215
2.	Ms. Nasiba Channa	Reserved Seat (Sindh)
3.	Mr. Muhammad Ahmeer Sultan	NA-116
4.	Sahibzada Muhammad Mehboob Sultan	NA-114
5.	Mr. Usman Ibrahim	NA-82

ANNOUNCEMENT

Mr. Speaker announced the commencement of proceedings for election of Speaker of the National Assembly. He informed the House that there were two valid nominations for the office of the Speaker and the candidate who would secure more votes than the other would be declared to have been elected as Speaker.

Mr. Speaker read out the names of the candidates, along with names of their proposers for the office of Speaker, National Assembly.

	<u>Candidates:</u>		Proposed by:-
1.	Mr. Asad Qaisar, MNA	(i) (ii) (iii)	Mr. Muhammad Riaz Khan Mr. Omar Ayub Khan Mr. Fazal Muhammad Khan
2.	Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah, MNA	(i) (ii) (iii) (iv) (v)	Syed Naveed Qamar Mr. Ramesh Lal Ms. Musarrat Rafique Mahesar Dr. Shazia Sobia Aslam Ms. Shahida Rehmani

The members were further informed that any candidate could withdraw his candidature at any time before the Assembly proceeds to elect the Speaker.

The honourable members were also informed that since there was no provision in the Rules of Procedure for fixation of time for election, therefore, voting would be closed when the Presiding Officer was satisfied that all the members present had voted. The election would be by secret ballot.

Every member has one vote. The Secretary, National Assembly would call the names of the members in alphabetical order.

ELECTION OF THE SPEAKER

Election was held by secret ballot. Mr. Speaker announced the result of the ballot as under:-

(1) Mr. Asad Qaisar secured <u>176</u> votes
 (2) Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah secured 146 votes

Mr. Asad Qaisar, MNA was declared elected as the Speaker of National Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

OATH OF THE SPEAKER

Mr. Asad Qaisar, made oath of office of the Speaker of the National Assembly and took the Chair.

PROTEST

Mr. Murtaza Javed Abbasi, MNA alongwith all members of PML(N) protested against the rigging in the General Elections 2018, made slogans and gathered in front of the dice of Mr. Speaker. Mr. Speaker suspended the proceeding for fifteen minutes.

FELICITATIONS

Mr. Asad Qaiser, newly elected Speaker, National Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan thanked all the members, former Speaker of the National Assembly and parliamentary parties and press. The following members felicitated the newly elected Speaker of the National Assembly:-

- 1. Mr. Murtaza Javed Abbasi
- 2. Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah
- 3. Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Hussain Qureshi
- 4. Sardar Ayaz Sadiq
- 5. Mr. Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui
- 6. Mr. Abdul Wasay
- 7. Mr. Muhammad Akhtar Mengal
- 8. Mr. Ghous Bux Khan Mahar
- 9. Nawabzada Shahzain Bugti
- 10. Mr. Khalid Hussain Magsi

ANNOUNCEMENT

Mr. Speaker announced the commencement of proceedings for election of Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly. Mr. Speaker read out the names of the candidates along with names of their proposers as mentioned below:-

	<u>Candidates:</u>		Proposed by:-
1.	Mr. Muhammad Qasim Khan Suri	(i) (ii)	Mr. Ali Khan Jadoon Mr. Farrukh Habib
2.	Mr. Asad Mahmood	(i) (ii) (iii)	Mr. Salahuddin Syed Mahmood Shah Mr. Abdul Wasay

The Secretary, National Assembly would call the names of the members in alphabetical order.

ELECTION OF DEPUTY SPEAKER

Election was held by secret ballot. Mr. Speaker announced the result of the ballot as under:-

(1) Mr. Muhammad Qasim Khan Suri secured 183 votes
 (2) Mr. Asad Mahmood secured 144 votes

Mr. Muhammad Qasim Khan Suri, MNA was declared elected as the Deputy Speaker of National Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

OATH OF THE DEPUTY SPEAKER

Mr. Muhammad Qasim Khan Suri, made oath of office of the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly.

POINTS OF ORDER

Name of member(s)	Subject
Mr. Muhammad Qasim Khan Suri, Deputy Speaker	Thanked the Chairman, PTI and his party for reposing confidence over him and pledged that he would try to remove the deprivation of the people of Balochistan.
Mr. Abdul Qadir Patel	Protested against advising him to bring membership card by the polling staff to cast his vote and allowing Mr. Imran Khan to cast the vote without the Membership Card.
Mr. Murtaza Javed Abbasi	Protested against mistreatment given to Mr. Muhammad Nawaz Sharif by the authorities.
Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah	The opposition will play an important role in the Assembly in future.
Mr. Asad Mahmood	Thanked the PPPP and PML(N) on his nomination for election of the Deputy Speaker and reiterated that the results of the General elections 2018 were rejected by all the Political parties.
Dr. Fehmida Mirza	Congratulated Mr. Speaker on his election.

ANNOUNCEMENT

Mr. Speaker announced that the election of the Prime Minister would be held on 17th August, 2018.

The sitting of the Assembly was adjourned to meet again on Friday, the 17th August, 2018 at 3.30 p.m.

Islamabad, the 15th August, 2018

TAHIR HUSSAIN Secretary