Last Updated On: 18th September 2021, 01:37 PM
Home | Advertisments | Careers | Downloads | Useful Links | FAQs | Contact Us 
The Sitting of the National Assembly has been adjourned to meet again on Monday, the 20th September, 2021 at 5:00 p.m.

Press Release Details

Share Print
N A Standing Committee on Federal Education, Professional Training, National Heritage and Culture meets
Tuesday, 14th September, 2021



Islamabad, the 14th September, 2021: The National Assembly Standing Committee on Federal Education, Professional Training, National Heritage and Culture unanimously recommended that “The Pakistan Institute of Education Bill, 2021” may be passed by the National Assembly in its 20th meeting held today at 11:30 a.m. in the Committee Room of Academy of Education Planning and Management (AEPAM), Islamabad under the Chairmanship of Mian Najeeb Ud Din Awaisi, MNA.

2. While briefing, the Additional Secretary, Federal Education and Professional Training Division apprised the Committee that the Pakistan Institute of Education (PIE) would be an institution of excellence meant for wide-ranging Research, Assessment, Training and Management Information Systems in education. He informed that PIE will forge a national consensus with respect to a long-term agenda for education, research, development, dissemination through collaborative efforts. He added that the main functions of the Institute include all comprehensive education data collection, analysis and reporting at National and International levels to support policy, planning and research as well as for future education reforms. The Institute will also capture all outputs of the education sector for analysis including learning systems, summative assessment and standardized scores. After detailed deliberations, the Committee unanimously recommended that the Bill may be passed by the National Assembly.

3. The Committee deferred “The Pakistan Global Institute Bill, 2021” (Government Bill) and “The NCS-Institute of Sciences Bill, 2021” (moved by Mr. James Iqbal, MNA) till its next meeting. Ms. Wajiha Qamar, Parliamentary Secretary for Federal Education and Professional Training Division requested the Committee to defer the agenda regarding Single National Curriculum (SNC) as the Hon. Minister will brief the Committee; therefore, the Committee deferred the agenda till its next meeting.

4. The Committee discussed the current Admission Policy in ICT Schools. The Director General, Federal Directorate of Education (FDE) briefed that the children of residents of Islamabad Capital Territory, Children of Federal Government/Semi Government employees residing in Islamabad are eligible for admission with the location as close as possible to their residences. Priority is given to the residents of same Union Council/Sector whichever the case may be. However, the Children belonging to same family are accorded preference for admission in the institutions where their brothers/sisters are already enrolled. He apprised that admission tests are conducted for admission to institutions where the number of applicants for admission exceeds intake capacity of the institution. The Committee decided to take up the agenda in every meeting and Members of the Committee will visit the FDE for briefing on admission policy in ICT Schools.

5. Besides the Parliamentary Secretary, Federal Education and Professional Training Division    (Ms. Wajiha Qamar, MNA), the meeting was attended by Mr. Ali Nawaz Awan, Mr. Sadaqat Ali Khan Abbasi, Mr. Umar Aslam Khan, Mr. Muhammad Farooq Azam Malik, Ms. Nafeesa Inayatullah Khan Khattak, Ms. Andleeb Abbas, Ms. Ghazala Saifi, Mr. Asma Qadeer, Ms. Tashfeen Safdar, Ms. Mehnaz Akbar Aziz, Ch. Muhammad Hamid Hameed, Ms. Kiran Imran Dar, Ms. Musarrat Asif Khawaja, Mr. Abid Hussain Bhayo, Ms. Mussarat Rafiq Mahesar, Dr. Shazia Sobia Aslam Soomro and Mr. Asmatullah, Hon. MNAs attended the meeting. The senior officers from Federal Education & Professional Training Division, Ministry of Law & Justice, Higher Education Commission, Federal Directorate of Education (FDE), Academy of Education Planning and Management (AEPAM) and National Curriculum Council (NCC) were also present in the meeting.

Secretary Committee