Last Updated On: 1st June 2020, 03:53 PM
Home | Feedback | Advertisments | Careers | Downloads | Useful Links | FAQs | Contact Us 
The National Assembly has been summoned to meet on Friday, the 5th June, 2020 at 4:00 p.m. in the Parliament House, Islamabad| Committee Meetings:03:00 PM: 9th meeting of the Sub-Committee of the Special Committee on Agricultural Products at Committee Room No.2, (First Floor) Parliament House Islamabad |

Press Release Details

Share Print
NA Standing Committee briefed that excessive use of polythene bags is a major cause of chronic lungs cancer and also the environment in a serious way by releasing its toxic chemicals
Tuesday, 14th May, 2019

The Committee was briefly apprised about the excessive use of Polythene Bags which are a major cause of Lungs Cancer, stoppage of sewage draining system and disruption of environment. These are absorbed into soil and slowly toxic chemicals are released. The meeting of the Standing Committee on Science and Technology held today at COMSATS University, Islamabad under the Chairmanship of Mr. Sajid Mehdi, MNA.

The Committee was also briefed about the working, performance, achievements and issues being faced by the COMSATS. The Committee urged that a new campus of COMSATS University should be constructed in Karachi. However, the Committee was told that matter of Land acquisition is under consideration with Government of Sindh.

The Committee lauded the efforts of a student for inventing a speedy wound healing molecule for diabetics and burn victims. A huge investment is required to launch it but unfortunately, nobody in Pakistan could invest and out of compulsion the COMSATS had to sign MoU with an Australian company. Now it is in clinical research process and it would take more than one and half year to get into the market.

The following MNAs, Engr. Usman Khan Tarakai, Mr. Rahat Aman Ullah Bhatti, Mr. Abdul Shakoor Shad, Ms. Sobia Kamal Khan, Mr. Mukhtar Ahmed Malik, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Ms. Zaib Jaffar, Dr. Samina Matloob, Mr. Sikandar Ali Rahoupoto, Mr. Naveed Aamir Jeeva and Mr. Aftab Hussain Siddique besides the officials of the Ministry attended the meeting.