Last Updated On: 6th August 2020, 07:13 PM
Home | Advertisments | Careers | Downloads | Useful Links | FAQs | Contact Us 
The Sitting of the National Assembly has been adjourned to meet again on Friday, the 7th August, 2020, at 11:00 am. | Today In National Assembly: 05:00 PM: Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) Session | Committee Meetings:02:30 PM: Privatization (Revised) at Committee Room No.7, 4th floor Parliament House Islamabad | 03:00 PM: 8th meeting of the SC on Narcotics Control at Constitution Room (Old Committee Room N0.5 Parliament House |

Press Release Details

Share Print
Speaker National Assembly Designates Conveners For 35 Parliamentary Friendship Groups
Wednesday, 28th November, 2018

Islamabad; November 28, 2018: The Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser has stressed upon the need to expand cooperation and contacts with the parliaments across the globe through the platform of Parliamentary Friendship Groups (PFGs). The process of enrollment of membership for the Parliamentary Friendship Groups began with the passage of a Resolution by the National Assembly of Pakistan on September 24, 2018 through which 91 Parliamentary Friendship Groups were reactivated.
The Speaker National Assembly, in his capacity as ex-officio President of these Parliamentary Friendship Groups has appointed Conveners from among the membership of these Groups to look after the day-to-day business of the Forums.The PFGs are not only meant to foster coordination with the parliaments of the 91 friendly countries but also to expand the scope of cooperation from parliament-to-parliament interaction to essential people-to-people contacts.
With the above objective in mind, the Speaker National Assembly has designated 12 more Conveners of the Parliamentary Friendship Groups bringing the total number of Conveners to 35. The Conveners of the remaining 56 PFGs will be appointed once the groups complete required quorum.List of Conveners for Parliamentary Friendship Groups in the 15th National Assembly of the Pakistan as follows:
1.         Sahibzada Sibghatullah                              Azerbaijan
2.         Mr. Mehboob Shah                                        Mayanmar
3.         Prince Muhammad Nawaz Allai                Qatar
4.         Malik Anwar Taj Advocate                           Mauritius
5.         Mr. Muhammad IqbalAfridi                         Nepal + Bhutan
6.         NawabzadaIftikhar Ahmed Khan Babar  Kuwait
7.         Mir Amer Ali Khan Magsi                            Portugal
8.         Mr. RazaRabaniKhar                                  Malaysia
9.         Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah                    Morocco
10.       Mr. Zulfiqar Sattar Bachani                       Kenya
11.       Ms. Shaista Pervaiz                                   Maldives
12.       Miss Shagufta Jumani                             Nigeria
Earlier,the Speaker National Assembly nominated 23 Conveners of different PFGs which were Mr.Muhammad Bashir Khan (Afghanistan), Mr. Ali Zahid (Algeria), Mr.Arbab Amir Ayub (Argentina), Ms. Marriyum Aurangzeb (Australia), Mr. Muhammad Aslam Bhootani (India), Agha Hassan Baloch (Bahrain), Chaudhary Mahmood Bashir Virk (Bangladesh), Mr. Muhammad Yaqoob Shaikh ( Belarus), Mr. Sher Ali Arbab (Belgium), Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada (Brazil), Mr. Sajid Khan (Brunei Darussalam), Mukhdoom Syed Sami-ul-Hassan Gillani (Bulgaria), Ms. Maleeka Bokhari (Chile), Mr. Noor Alam Khan (China), Mr. Riaz Fatyana (Cuba), Rao Muhammad Ajmal Khan (Denmark), Mr. Qaiser Ahmed Sheikh (DPR Korea), Mr. Nasir Khan Musa Zai (Egypt), Ms. Shandana Gulzar Khan (European Parliament), Mr. Amjid Ali Khan (France), Sardar Ayaz Sadiq (Germany), Ms. Nusrat Wahid (Greece) and Mr. Faiz Ullah (Iran).