Last Updated On: 16th November 2018, 02:28 PM
Home | Feedback | Advertisments | Careers | Downloads | Useful Links | FAQs | Contact Us 
The National Assembly Session has been prorogued on Friday, the 9th November, 2018 |

Press Release Details

Share Print
Visit Of The Standing Committees On Defence Of National Assembly And Senate To North Waziristan Agency, Fata
Wednesday, 6th December, 2017

Islamabad, the 6th December, 2017: The National Assembly and Senate Standing Committees on Defence today visited Miranshah, headquarters of North Waziristan Agency under the Chairmanship of Shaikh Rohale Asghar MNA and Senator Mushahid Hussain Sayed which was welcomed by Major General Azhar, General Officer Commanding 7 Division along with other senior officers of Pak Army. The lawmakers were briefed on the geographical position of the area, border management, rehabilitation and socio economic uplift in the North Waziristan Agency in detail. It was informed that 100KM fence has already been completed out of 830 Km fence and the remaining will be completed by 2019. It was further informed that solar light alongwith CCTV cameras will also be installed along the fence for effective monitoring of the cross border terrorism on Pak Afghan Border. After briefing the Committee also visited the model village and the newly constructed market by the Pak-Army and also the Younas Khan Sports Complex at Miranshah. It was informed that about 1500 shops have already been completed on the place of the old bazaar of Miranshah and will be handed over to the locals very soon. The lawmakers appreciated the Pak Army on development works and clear the area from the terrorists. Thereafter the Committee also visited the forward post on Pak Afghan Border and examined the fence work physically and also made interaction with the Army jawans deputed on the Pak Afghan border. The Parliamentarians praised the Army jawans on safe guarding the frontiers of the country.

2.            The visit/briefing was attended by Mr. Tahir Bashir Cheema, Sheikh Muhammad Akram, Ms. Surriya Asghar, Lt. Col. (Retd) Ghulam Rasul Sahi, Mr. Saeed Ahmed Khan Manais, Shaikh Fayyaz ud Din, Dr. Fehmida Mirza, Malik Muhammad Amir Dogar and Sardar Mansab Ali Dogar MNAs and Senator Lt Gen (R) Abdul Qayyum, Senator Mir Kabir Ahmed Muhammad Shahi and Senator Atta ur Rehman.